FT: Alfreton Town 1    0 Wrexham

01 January 2014

Dave Pursglove's match picture album here

Just a few short seasons ago the notion that Alfreton Town could beat the likes of Wrexham twice inside a week would have been laughable, yet the Reds completed their second double of the season on New Year's Day in difficult conditions.
Wrexham had been successful on their two previous visits to the Impact Arena, but on this occasion Job Ayo Akinde's goal in first half added time was enough to consolidate third place for Alfreton, some five points clear of fourth placed Grimsby Town albeit having played three games more.
This was also the first time since winning promotion to the Conference Premier that the Reds had won five successive games, their previous best having been four straight wins in the late revival that took them out of the first season's relegation battle.
Connor Franklin was preferred to Tom Shaw as the only change from the starting line-up against Southport four days earlier, the match played throughout in a blustery wind with rain falling on an already heavy pitch, although full credit must go to groundsman Rob Brookes with so many games postponed throughout the country.
Chris Westwood had to tackle back as Adrian Cieslewicz raced into the area in the seventh minute, then keeper Jon Worsnop punched clear a Johnny Hunt volley as Alfreton soaked up early Wrexham pressure.
With ten minutes elapsed Dan Bradley's deep punt almost swirled over Wrexham keeper Andy Coughlin as it caught in the wind, then back at the other end Brett Ormerod fired straight at Worsnop from Robbie Evans' chip through.
Ormerod was momentarily clear on goal when Westwood misdirected a clearance from Jay Harris in the 16th minute, but the defender quickly atoned, then in response Lathaniel Rowe-Turner was teed up by Akinde only for his shot to strike Paul Clayton and drift harmlessly wide.
Bradley chested down Akinde's crossfield pass in the 20th minute before Clayton won a corner for the Reds, then ten minutes later from a Daniel Meadows flag-kick Darran Kempson looped a header just over at the back post.
A magnificent save by Worsnop denied Ormerod from 12 yards on 36 minutes, then Kempson went close again from a Meadows free-kick, then as the game swung to and fro Ormerod had a goal disallowed when he bundled Worsnop 1950's style into the back of the net from a Joe Clarke corner.
With the first half just eight seconds into a minute of stoppage time Meadows sent Akinde to the edge of the area before cutting in to fire low across Coughlin into the corner of the net and Alfreton were ahead in a gruelling contest.

HT: Alfreton Town 1    0 Wrexham

  A long jinking run by Clayton four minutes after the break saw his shot blocked by Coughlin, then Kempson had to intercept as Andy Bishop shied at goal from a Mark Carrington cross.
Worsnop made two smothering saves at the feet of Evans after being played through both times by Ormerod, then on the hour Bradley's angled drive was held by Coughlin after a sudden burst of speed down the right.
Joe Anyinsah fired straight at Worsnop from Carrington's 72nd minute cross, then a ferociously struck Harris free-kick was calmly gathered by Worsnop before a quick break led to Akinde's stubbed shot from a Rowe-Turner cross.
Wrexham can certainly count themselves unfortunate as Evans' snap shot rebounded off the crossbar with Worsnop finally beaten in the 77th minute, but with every single Alfreton player physically drained the Reds closed out the game to record only their third clean sheet from 31 League and Cup games this season.

Alfreton Town Team:
15 Jon Worsnop
02 Bradley Wood
10 Dan Bradley (08 Tom Shaw, 78 mins)
04 Chris Westwood
03 Connor Franklin
06 Darran Kempson
21 Lathaniel Rowe-Turner
05 Michael Wylde
12 Daniel Meadows
09 Paul Clayton (13 Daniel Wishart, 65 mins)
18 Job Ayo Akinde
Substitutes not used:
16 Nick Fenton
20 Jay McFadzean
01 Ross Atkins

Wrexham Team:

13 Andy Coughlin
28 David Artell
17 Leon Clowes
06 Joe Clarke
16 Johnny Hunt
08 Jay Harris
29 Mark Carrington (14 Steve Tomassen, 83 mins)
21 Rob Evans
07 Adrian Cieslewicz
10 Brett Ormerod
09 Andy Bishop (26 Joe Anyinsah, 71 mins)
Substitutes not used:
18 Jay Colbeck
01 Joslain Mayebi
25 Theo Bailey-Jones

Goal: Alfreton Town - Job Ayo Akinde 45_+1

Alfreton Town - Bradley Wood, Lathaniel Rowe-Turner, Daniel Meadows
Wrexham - Rob Evans

Attendance breakdown: 765 including 171 from Wrexham

Attendance: 765

Man of the Match: Darran Kempson

Referee: Adrian Holmes Match Reports

View Large Video
main club sponsor
Impact banner
Facebook Twitter
Next Game Poster
Tue 23/07/19 19:30
Scunthorpe United
Fixtures Match Reports  
23/07/2019 19:30:00 Scunthorpe United H
26/07/2019 19:30:00 Notts County H
03/08/2019 15:00:00 Brackley Town A
06/08/2019 19:45:00 Boston United H
10/08/2019 15:00:00 Blyth Spartans H
13/08/2019 19:45:00 Altrincham A
17/08/2019 15:00:00 Bradford Park Avenue H
24/08/2019 15:00:00 Guiseley A
26/08/2019 15:00:00 Southport H
31/08/2019 15:00:00 Kidderminster Harriers A
View all Fixtures