FT: Wrexham 4    0 Alfreton Town

04 April 2015

Alfreton Town's recent good run, which had seen them concede just twice in seven unbeaten games, came abruptly to a halt at the Racecourse ground on Saturday.

Fortunately for the Reds other results saw them maintain their six-point cushion as they hover precariously above the Vanarama Conference drop zone

With Jason Mooney having been recalled by York City at short notice manager Nicky Law gave Tom Flynn his debut, having signed him earlier in the year, and he became the eighth goalkeeper to be used by Alfreton.

Flynn was called into action within 75 seconds, saving low to his right from Sam Finley, before confidently punching clear a Dean Keates corner and saving Joe Clarke's angled drive.

It was pretty much all Wrexham in the opening stages, apart from a stifled John Johnston shot and a long-range effort from Dan Bradley that was easily gathered by home keeper Andy Coughlin.

There was not much that Flynn could do to prevent Connor Jennings from lashing home the opener from Steve Tomassen's 19th minute cross, Alfreton's response ruled out nine minutes later as Karl Hawley netted from an offside position.

Another good save denied Jennings, but Wrexham led 2-0 by the 32nd minute when Jay Harris steered the ball home with an angled drive in receipt of a Jennings cross.

Five minutes before the break another Jennings delivery allowed Andy Bishop to beat Flynn at his near post and Alfreton were staring at a three goal deficit having scarcely contributed to proceedings.

HT: Wrexham 3    0 Alfreton Town

The second half script did not alter much, although Jake Speight was desperately unlucky not to score against his old club with a diving header from Lathaniel Rowe-Turner's 72nd minute cross, but Bishop had already registered Wrexham's fourth goal six minutes earlier after running on to Keates' through ball.

Alfreton Town Team:
01 Thomas Flynn
05 Luke Graham 
28 Callum Howe
25 Simon Lenighan
02 Bradley Wood
03 Lathaniel Rowe-Turner
10 Dan Bradley
21 Andi Thanoj (29 Jimmy Phillips, 55 mins)
27 John Johnston (12 Tom Shaw, 76 mins)
18 Joe Ironside (07 Jake Speight, 58 mins)
23 Karl Hawley
Substitutes not used:
04 Duane Courtney 
24 Joe Leesley 

Wrexham Team:

01 Andy Coughlin
04 Manny Smith
14 Steve Tomassen
08 Jay Harris (30 Corey Roper, 88 mins)
25 Anthony Stephens
05 Blaine Hudson
29 Sam Finley
12 Dean Keates (28 Kyle Storer, 69 mins)
10 Andy Bishop 
24 Connor Jennings
06 Joe Clarke (15 Rob Evans, 55 mins)
Substitutes not used:
09 Louis Moult
16 Wes York

Wrexham - Connor Jennings (19), Jay Harris (32), Andy Bishop (40 & 66)

Wrexham - Andy Bishop, Connor Jennings
Alfreton Town - Luke Graham,
Bradley Wood, Daniel Bradley

Attendance: 2468

Man of the Match: Simon Lenighan

Referee: Jason Whiteley of Leeds Match Reports

View Large Video
main club sponsor
Impact banner
Facebook Twitter
Next Game Poster
Tue 23/07/19 19:30
Scunthorpe United
Fixtures Match Reports  
23/07/2019 19:30:00 Scunthorpe United H
26/07/2019 19:30:00 Notts County H
03/08/2019 15:00:00 Brackley Town A
06/08/2019 19:45:00 Boston United H
10/08/2019 15:00:00 Blyth Spartans H
13/08/2019 19:45:00 Altrincham A
17/08/2019 15:00:00 Bradford Park Avenue H
24/08/2019 15:00:00 Guiseley A
26/08/2019 15:00:00 Southport H
31/08/2019 15:00:00 Kidderminster Harriers A
View all Fixtures